Home result The Winners of Euro-kartoenale 2019 “The Wall”

The Winners of Euro-kartoenale 2019 “The Wall”


The Turkish cartoonist Arslan Dogan did win the 22nd edition of the Euro-kartoenale Kruishoutem, Belgium. With his endless wall he is reacting to the problems of refugees around the world. The second prize was for Luis Mecho from Costa Rica, followed by the Iranian Jalal Pirmarzanad who won the Bronze award. The winning cartoonists did get there prize Saturday at the prize giving ceremony in Kruishoutem Belgium.

‘The Wall’ was the theme of this year’s contest and no less than 985 cartoonists from over 87 countries (a new record!) did sent their works. The international jury  – with cartoonist Luc Descheemaeker (O-Sekoer) as president – had to choose among 2750 cartoons and they liked the work by Arslan Dogan the best, also because he combined the theme and a world wide current topic of the refugees.

Besides the top three winners, there were also prizes for the French Jean-Loïc Belom, who won a personal exhibition in the European Cartoon Center next year, the Polish Krawczak Andrzej (Best Entry of the EU) and Herwig Beyaert (Best Belgian).

A selection of the best 150 cartoons can be seen until the 30th of June during the exhibition in the European Cartoon Center: border walls, restriction of freedom, walls between people, social media, … it are all topics that were developed by the cartoonists. From July on a smaller exhibition of 60 works will travel around to different cities in Belgium.

  • First Prize: Arslan Dogan (Turkey)
  • Secund Prize: Luis Mecho (Costa Rica)
  • Third Prize: Jalal Pirmarzanad (Iran)
  • Best Entry European Union: Andrzej Krawczak (Poland)
  • Best Belgian Entry: Herwig Beyaert (Belgium
  • Prize of the ECC: Jean-Loic Belom (France)

There were honourable mentions for Listes Nikola (Croatia) Mahmood Nazari (Iran) and Mikhail Zlatkovsky and Druzihin Valentin of Russia.

The cartoon used to promote the campaign was from Agim Sulaj (Italy).

1st prize Dogan Arslan (Turkey)
2nd prize Luis Demetrio Calvo Mecho (Costa Rica)
3rd prize Jalal Pirmarzanad (Iran)
Best European entry Andrzej Krawczak (Poland)
Best Belgian entry Herwig Beyaert
Prize of the ECC Jean-Loïc Belom (France)
Honorable mention Valentin Druzihin (Russia)
Honorable mention Nikola Listes (Croatia)
Honorable mention Mahmood Nazari (Iran)
Honorable mention Mikhail Zlatkovski (Russia)
The cartoon used to promote the campaign was from Agim Sulaj (Italy).

Source: ECC Kruishoutem